[This is a list of the #2 people in each Cabinet department, whose titles varied depending on the department.]


Deputy Secretaries of Agriculture


Richard E. Lyng                                             1981-1985

John R. Norton III                                           1985-1986

Peter C. Myers                                              1986-1989


Deputy Secretaries of Commerce


Joseph R. Wright Jr.                                     1981-1982

Guy W. Fiske                                                 1982-1983

Clarence J. Brown                                        1983-1988

Donna F. Tuttle                                              1988-1989


Deputy Secretaries of Defense


Frank C. Carlucci                                          1981-1982

William P. Thayer                                          1982-1984

William H. Taft IV                                           1984-1989


Under Secretaries of Education


William C. Clohan Jr.                                    1981-1982

Gary L. Jones                                                1982-1985

Gary L. Bauer                                                1985-1987

Linus D. Wright                                              1987-1989


Deputy Secretaries of Energy


William K. Davis                                            1981-1983

Danny J. Boggs                                             1983-1986

William F. Martin                                           1986-1989


Under Secretaries of Health and Human Services


David B. Swoap                                            1981-1983

John A. Svahn                                               1983-1984

Charles D. Baker                                          1984-1986

Don M. Newman                                           1986-1989


Under Secretaries of Housing and Urban Development


Donald I. Hovde                                             1981-1983

Philip Abrams                                                1983-1985

Lee L. Verstandig                                         1985-1987

Carl D. Covitz                                                1987-1989


Under Secretaries of the Interior


Donald P. Hodel                                            1981-1983

J. J. “Jake” Simmons III                                1983-1984

Ann D. McLaughlin                                        1984-1987

Earl E. Gjelde                                                1987-1989


Deputy Attorneys General [Department of Justice]


Edward C. Schmults                                     1981-1984

Carol E. Dinkins                                            1984-1985

D. Lowell Jensen                                           1985-1986

Arnold I. Burns                                               1986-1989


Under Secretaries of Labor


Malcolm R. Lovell Jr.                                     1981-1983

Ford B. Ford                                                  1983-1985

Dennis E. Whitfield                                       1985-1989


Deputy Secretaries of State


William P. Clark                                            1981-1982

Walter J. Stoessel Jr.                                   1982

Kenneth W. Dam                                           1982-1985

John C. Whitehead                                       1985-1989


Deputy Secretaries of Transportation


Darrell M. Trent                                              1981-1983

James H. Burnley IV                                     1983-1987

Mary Ann Dawson                                         1987-1989


Deputy Secretaries of the Treasury


R. Tim McNamar                                           1981-1985

Richard G. Darman                                       1985-1987

M. Peter McPherson                                     1987-1989


[During the Reagan Administration, the Director of Central Intelligence, US Representative to the United Nations, and US Trade Representative were considered Cabinet-level positions. Therefore, the #2 people under each of these officials are listed below.]


Deputy Directors of Central Intelligence


Adm. Bobby Ray Inman                                1981-1982

John N. McMahon                                         1982-1986

Robert M. Gates                                            1986-1989


Deputy Representatives of the United States to the United Nations


Kenneth L. Adelman                                     1981-1983

Jose S. Sorzano                                           1983-1985

Herbert S. Okun                                            1985-1989


Deputy United States Trade Representatives, Washington


David R. MacDonald                                    1981-83

Michael B.Smith                                            1983-84

Robert E. Lighthizer                                      1984-85

M. Alan Woods                                              1985-87

Alan F. Holmer                                              1987-89


Deputy United States Trade Representatives, Geneva


Michael B. Smith                                           1981-83

Peter O. Murphy                                            1983-86

Michael A. Samuels                                      1986-89