Appointments, April 30, 1982

Appointment of Roger B. Porter as a Member of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships

April 30, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint Roger B. Porter to be a member of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships.

Mr. Porter is Deputy Assistant to the President for Policy Development and Director of the White House Office of Policy Development. He also serves as Executive Secretary of the Cabinet Council on Economic Affairs and as Counselor to the Secretary of the Treasury. He was on the faculty of the School of Government at Harvard University from 1977 to 1981 and is currently on leave as associate professor of public policy. He is the author of ``Presidential Decision Making'' and several articles.

Mr. Porter was a White House Fellow from 1974 to 1975. He was appointed Special Assistant to the President and served as Executive Secretary of the President's Economic Policy Board from 1974 to 1977.

He was assistant dean and tutor in politics at the Queen's College, Oxford University, from 1971 to 1972. He served as associate director of the Utah Local Government Modernization Study in 1972 and has been actively involved in State constitutional revision efforts.

He was selected as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Men in America for 1981 by the United States Jaycees.

A native of Utah, Mr. Porter received his B.A. degree from Brigham Young University in 1969 and was selected as a Rhodes Scholar and as a Woodrow Wilson Fellow, receiving his bachelor of philosophy degree from Oxford University in 1971. He received his M.A. and Ph. D. degrees from Harvard University in 1978.

He is married to the former Ann Robinson, has two children, and resides in McLean, Va. He was born June 19, 1946.

Appointment of 18 Members of the Intergovernmental Advisory Council on Education, and Designation of Chairman

April 30, 1982

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the Intergovernmental Advisory Council on Education. The President also announced his intention to designate Joseph C. Harder to be Chairman.

Joseph C. Harder has been serving as a State senator for Kansas since 1961. He resides in Moundridge, Kans., and was born February 1, 1916. He would succeed J. Glenn Schneider.

Roberta T. Anderson is currently serving as dean, School of Education, the University of South Dakota. She resides in Vermillion, S. Dak., and was born July 26, 1933. She would succeed Richard C. Gilman.

William S. Banowsky is president of the University of Oklahoma. He resides in Norman, Okla., and was born March 4, 1936. He would succeed Henry S. Commager.

Alan L. Cropsey is presently serving as a State representative for Michigan. He resides in DeWitt, Mich., and was born June 13, 1952. He would succeed Richard G. Hatcher.

Esther R. Greene has been serving as director of public affairs for the California Chamber of Commerce since 1975. She was born December 31, 1927, and resides in Sacramento, Calif. She would succeed Sandra K. Lucas.

Emlyn I. Griffith is an attorney at law in Rome, N.Y., where she resides. He was born May 13, 1923. He would succeed Ramon C. Cortines.

Manuel J. Justiz is presently director, Latin American programs in education, and assistant professor, department of educational administration, College of Education, at the University of New Mexico. He resides in Albuquerque, N. Mex., and was born December 26, 1948. He would succeed Wenda W. Moore.

Vance R. Kelly is serving as a State senator for New Hampshire. He resides in Londonderry, N.H., and was born March 26, 1941. He would succeed Lucille Maurer.

Joseph L. Knutson is president emeritus of Concordia College. He resides in Moorhead, Minn., and was born February 14, 1906. He would succeed William Shea.

Jacqueline E. McGregor is currently field director for the Senate campaign of Congressman Phil Ruppe in Michigan. She resides in Iron Mountain, Mich., and was born December 18, 1938. She would succeed Abraham Shemtov.

Norman A. Murdock is with Ahlrichs and Murdock Company, L.P.A., and commissioner for Hamilton County. He resides in Cincinnati, Ohio, and was born November 6, 1931. He would succeed Daisy W. Thaler.

Ralph J. Perk is with Ralph J. Perk and Associates in Cleveland, Ohio. He was mayor of Cleveland in 1971 - 1977. He resides in Cleveland and was born January 19, 1914. He would succeed Frank Bowe.

Dalton Sheppard, Jr., is serving as State representative for South Carolina. He is also president and owner of CreditData Corp. He resides in Columbia, S.C., and was born September 2, 1936. He would succeed Jessie M. Rattley.

Betty R. Sepulveda is an instructional consultant for language development in the office of curriculum for Denver Public Schools. She resides in Denver, Colo., and was born January 26, 1923. She would succeed Hiroshi Yamashita.

George N. Smith is superintendent of Mesa Unified Schools in Mesa, Ariz. He resides in Mesa and was born February 11, 1927. He would succeed Judith M. Owens.

James B. Tatum is president of Tatum Motor Co. in Anderson, Mo., where he resides. He was born July 24, 1925. He would succeed Robert L. Hardesty.

Harriet M. Weider is supervisor for the 2nd district for the Orange County Board of Supervisors. She resides in Huntington Beach, Calif., and was born October 7, 1920. She would succeed Robert Graham.

Gonzalo A. Velez is currently serving as national chairman of the Congress of Filipino-American Citizens. He resides in West Orange, N.J., and was born October 26, 1941. He would succeed Andrew C. Phillips.