Appointment of Three Members of the Board of the Panama Canal Commission

January 11, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the Board of the Panama Canal Commission. These members are citizens of Panama. This is in accordance with the Panama Canal Treaty of 1977.

Oyden Ortega Duran would succeed Ricardo A. Rodriquez. He is an attorney and was Minister of Labor and Social Welfare of Panama in 1978 - 1982. He was born July 6, 1944.

Fernando Cardoze Fabrega would succeed Thomas Paredes Royo. He is a partner in the law firm of Arias, Fabrega & Fabrega. He was secretary of the board of directors of the Latin American Export Bank in 1980 - 1982. He was born October 11, 1937.

Carlos Ozores Typaldos would succeed Edwin Fabrega Velarde. He has been Ambassador of the Republic of Panama to the Panamanian Mission at the United Nations since 1981. He was born August 7, 1940.