Appointment of Four Members of the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations

September 22, 1983

The President today appointed the following individuals to be members of the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations for terms of 2 years:

Robert Boone Hawkins, Jr., of Loomis, Calif., is president of Sequoia Institute in Sacramento, Calif. He was a program coordinator for the State and local government program at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. He was born September 6, 1941, in Berkeley, Calif. This is a reappointment.

Sandra R. Smoley, of Sacramento, Calif., is supervisor (third district), Sacramento County. She is also serving as president of the National Association of Counties. She was born July 8, 1936, in Spirit Lake, Iowa. She will succeed Peter F. Schabarum.

Mary Kathleen Teague, of Springfield, Va., is executive director of the American Legislative Exchange Council in Washington, D.C. She was born February 29, 1948, in St. Louis, Mo. She will succeed Wyatt Durette.

Lee L. Verstandig, of Washington, D.C., is Assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Affairs at the White House. He was born September 11, 1937, in Memphis, Tenn. He will succeed Richard Salisbury Williamson.